Republican, Democratic Committees Choosing 108th Candidates

SUNBURY – Candidates will be chosen this week for the special election in the 108th district state house seat vacated by Lynda Schlegel Culver.

The Northumberland County Democratic Committee tells WKOK its list of candidates include Montour County Commissioner Trevor Finn, Montour County Democratic Chairperson Amber Neidig, and two Milton residents; Jason Radel and John Cooper.

Those candidates are being chosen via an online election among conferees and that deadline for them to vote is this Thursday night.

The Northumberland County Republican Committee tells WKOK its conferees will choose a nominee out of eight candidates Thursday at 5 p.m. at the former Grace Lutheran Church on Spruce Street. They say the event is open to the public. The list of candidates include: Montour County Republican Committee Chairman David Ackely, Joe Moralez of Milton, Tom Webb of Sunbury and Steve Brosious of Sunbury, along with Michael Stender, Andrew Ramos, Gary Truckenmiller, and Edward Rothermel.

The special election will take place during the May 16 Primary to replace Culver. She left the position and successfully became the current state senator of the 27th district to replace John Gordner, who took a position in the office of Senate President Pro Tempe Kim Ward.

About The Author