Husky Football Standout Named Finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame

BLOOMSBURG – is reporting… Bloomsburg, Pa. — A former Bloomsburg Husky football standout has been named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Jahri Evans is one of the 15 modern-era player finalists for the Class of 2024, according to an announcement made Wednesday, Dec. 27.


Evans is a finalist for the first time in his second year of eligibility. He joins Eric Allen, Jared Allen, Willie Anderson, Dwight Freeney, Antonio Gates, Rodney Harrison, Devin Hester, Torry Holt, Andrew Johnson, Julius Peppers, Fred Taylor, Reggie Wayne, Patrick Willis, and Darren Woodson on the ballot for the Class of 2024.


Of the list of candidates, nine players reached this stage in the selection process when the Class of 2023 was chosen, two players are in their first year of eligibility, and four players are finalists for the first time after a combined 40 years of eligibility.


The slate of candidates in the modern-era player category will be considered when the Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee meets prior to Super Bowl LVIII.


The Class of 2024 will be unveiled publicly on Feb. 8 during the “NFL Honors presented by Invisalign ” broadcast from Las Vegas on CBS Television Network and NFL Network and streamed on Paramount+ and NFL+. The show airs at 9 p.m. ET.


Evans was inducted into the Bloomsburg Athletics Hall of Fame in 2018 and into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in 2022. He is also on the College Football Hall of Fame and National Football Foundation Hall of Fame ballots. Also under his belt is a finalist recognition for the NCAA DII 50th Anniversary Gold Award.


About The Author